Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Massive Lag just in Towns

  1. #11
    Daeari Dae314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    1,185

    Default

    It's rather disappointing that your computer is so old. DDR3 memory is STILL at an all time low, and you would've been able to get 4GB for like $20. However, DDR2 memory is not that cheap right now -_-. If you want to shell out $50 or more on a memory upgrade, you can get 4GB of DDR2 memory (that memory I linked to should be what your board takes judging by your processor model).

  2. #12
    Slime jokersheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    275

    Default

    thank you for the suggestions and thank you for the link to the ram I could buy. I know my computer is old. I got it from my aunt because my laptop screen died. So I thank you for your help.

    maybe I can get the ram soon if not, I guess I'll just have to deal with the lag. I know other people are experiencing the same kind of lag so I know its not just my old computer and me lol.

    thanks for the helpful suggestions
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v72/joker_smile/icons/obies2.jpg
    • Goals:
    • [ ] Get the guild more active!
    • [ ] Dojo Blue Belt
    • [ ] Get To Lvl 150
    • [X] Get New Laptop

    *RWARS* I MISS YOU WAREZ, IZZY, DAN, NANI & RAINE & TARA! <3

  3. #13
    Mistress of Insanity FailFTW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,668

    Default

    Connect the monitor, keyboard, and mouse to your laptop and you can use it again.

    2014.3.28
    Evalithia : 201 Luminous
    178 166 164 162 144 135 134 125 123 120 120 105 104 100
    Steam

  4. #14
    Slime jokersheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    275

    Default

    I've done that before and it's too much of a strain on my back plus other people use the computer at different times and its a pain in the butt to switch stuff back and forth and trust me with my mom I would have to switch stuff back and forth.

    I'll see what kind of ram I actually need and maybe a buddy of mine can help me figure something out.

    I just did a memory scan on Crucial.com and this is what it showed me:
    Memory Type: SDRAM, PC133, SDRAM (non-ECC)
    Maximum Memory: 3GB
    Currently Installed Memory: 384MB
    Total Memory Slots: 3
    Available Memory Slots: 1
    Last edited by jokersheart; 19th April 2012 at 04:04 AM.
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v72/joker_smile/icons/obies2.jpg
    • Goals:
    • [ ] Get the guild more active!
    • [ ] Dojo Blue Belt
    • [ ] Get To Lvl 150
    • [X] Get New Laptop

    *RWARS* I MISS YOU WAREZ, IZZY, DAN, NANI & RAINE & TARA! <3

  5. #15
    Daeari Dae314's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    1,185

    Default

    Oh god that's even older than I thought... Scratch getting new memory, I'd just use that until you get the money to do a full upgrade. You'd end up just wasting money I think.

  6. #16
    Slime jokersheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    275

    Default

    so you dont think even buy a 512mb stick for 25 bucks would help?

    I know for a while I wont have money to do any real upgrading so I'm just looking for a way that will help with the lag on towns and on some flash games I play on facebook.
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v72/joker_smile/icons/obies2.jpg
    • Goals:
    • [ ] Get the guild more active!
    • [ ] Dojo Blue Belt
    • [ ] Get To Lvl 150
    • [X] Get New Laptop

    *RWARS* I MISS YOU WAREZ, IZZY, DAN, NANI & RAINE & TARA! <3

  7. #17
    Mistress of Insanity FailFTW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,668

    Default

    I strongly suggest that you just save up and buy a new computer in the future. There isn't much of a point in upgrading RAM in a 10-year-old computer.

    2014.3.28
    Evalithia : 201 Luminous
    178 166 164 162 144 135 134 125 123 120 120 105 104 100
    Steam

  8. #18
    Slime jokersheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    275

    Default

    so you're saying even if I get the 512mb ram its not going to make maple playing easier? all I'm looking for is a way to get maple to stop lagging so I can turn in quests and talk to NPC without it taking me 20 minutes to do that.

    I don't see buying a new computer anytime soon.


    thanks again for all your suggestions. I guess I just avoid towns and quests as best as I can.
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v72/joker_smile/icons/obies2.jpg
    • Goals:
    • [ ] Get the guild more active!
    • [ ] Dojo Blue Belt
    • [ ] Get To Lvl 150
    • [X] Get New Laptop

    *RWARS* I MISS YOU WAREZ, IZZY, DAN, NANI & RAINE & TARA! <3

  9. #19
    choo choo mother ****er Omar Ranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    404 NOT FOUND
    Posts
    3,680

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jokersheart View Post
    so you're saying even if I get the 512mb ram its not going to make maple playing easier? all I'm looking for is a way to get maple to stop lagging so I can turn in quests and talk to NPC without it taking me 20 minutes to do that.

    I don't see buying a new computer anytime soon.


    thanks again for all your suggestions. I guess I just avoid towns and quests as best as I can.
    We're saying that upgrading your computer is just a waste of money in the first place. You would be much better off scrapping that piece of ancient architecture and getting something better.
    Spoiler!

    Quote Originally Posted by kaglover1 View Post
    But now I'm like screw that, I'm skipping to the part where Bella finally combines with Edward

  10. #20

    Default

    I would consider to wait getting a new computer but since you plan not to have one anytime or in the future my suggestion if you need to play only Maple, get DDR2 with at least 2 gb of memory total. It should be enough to play Maple.

    My old laptop specs isn't good enough to play Maplestory. It is barely functional with Maple now.

    Specifics:
    OS - Windows XP
    Processor - Pentium 1.69 Ghz
    RAM - 2 slots with 512 MBs = 1 GB.
    If you wish to complain to me that I have a massive ego problem, go and look up 'irony' in the dictionary.
    In case you currently use adblocker, this is my journal.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •