Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Maple Physics

Icon11 Maple Physics

Since the guy got mad at the other thread, I decided to post it here.

This is directed @ Wigum but other answers are fine

I wanna know more about this game/maple physics concept regarding how things work. I am not a game programmer (just a computer science major xD) and it looks like you know something I don't about this. I always thought of games as programs and computer graphic imagery mixed together. I've only created games on my calculator and none of them actually required the creation of a world as maple story does. I guess it would be interesting in that you actually make a world out of a program and you can control all aspects of it. This is why I find programming so fun, you actually create things out of just about nothing, it's very powerful.

But back to the game physics, since you are creating a world and defining the laws within that world, wouldn't it make sense to logically think about how the laws work? Especially in a professionally made game like maple story, shouldn't there be more than just the random generation of laws behind stuff like attack stacking? People program the laws, they control the laws, so wouldn't the laws have to logically make sense?

Basically I'm asking why do you believe that game physics is so arbitrary?

Because I don't want to die after falling 30 stories outside the eos tower.
    Butts.

213 181 178 166 165 164 162 152 147 135 134 130 125 123 123 120 120 104 100 100

Because gaming realism isn't worth it. Why even continue making a game in 3d when it's more futile to make it look beyond human? Gaming has come a long way but I wonder if gritty realism is really worth it? I would like to have wacky fun with old school games.
    I'm Retired.

Allright to my point.
    Why do some buffs stack and not others.
    Example, echo can stack on pots, beholder hex overwrites apples and attack pots.
    Why do we get invincibility frames and monsters dont.