Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Guide to "Capping" Stats

We're in a heap o'trouble Tesiqurasa's Avatar

Default Guide to "Capping" Stats

Tesiqurasa's Guide to Capping Stats

Hello fellow Maplers, and welcome to my guide dedicated to the oh-so-confusing concept of capping your stats! Specifically, capping your minor stats. Now, before I go into great detail, I should introduce myself.

My name is Mike, but most people refer to me as Tesiqurasa. I have been playing Global Maple Story for three years, and own or have played most classes past 120.

Table of Contents
    1. What are "minor" and "major" stats?
    1a. The distribution of major stats
    1b. The distribution of minor stats
    2. General Concepts
    3. Thief and Dual Blader (dex)
    4. Bowman, Corsair, and Shadower (str)
    5. Magician and Evan (luk)
    6. Brawler (dex)
    7. Warrior (accuracy/dex)
    8. Helpful Tips
    9. End Note

1. What exactly are "minor" and "major" stats?

1a. Major stats are those that add the most to your damage.

Str: Warriors, Brawlers, and Arans

Dex: Bowmen (Including Wild Hunters) and Corsairs (Mechanics)

Luk: Thieves and Dual Bladers

Int: Magicians (Including Evan and Battle Mage).

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1b. Minor stats are "support" stats. They don't add as much damage as major stats, and in some circumstances, they will give no real direct benefit. However, upgrading these correctly is, perhaps, the most confusing thing a new player will do.

Dex: Warriors and Arans (under special circumstances), Thieves, Dual Bladers, and Brawlers
    Str: Bowmen, Corsairs, and in some situations, Shadowers

Luk: Mages, and to some extent, Warriors and Arans

Int: None, but every class benefits from extra int. For every 10 int, a character will gain 1 extra MP at each level up, and this is commonly used for HP washing.